Spring til indhold


Din indkøbskurv er tom

Artikel: Red Bull Big Wave Africa


Red Bull Big Wave Africa

Red Bull Big Wave Africa bliver afholdt for niende gang på Dungeons, der ligger i Hout Bay udenfor Cape Town.

Der er masser af money og prestige at kæmpe om… Og det giver masser af svedige billeder vi andre kan sidde og drømme til.

Der er waiting period fra 1. juni til 31 august, og allerede nu er der ved at være chance for konkurrence. Følg det på det officielle site http://www.redbullbwa.com/
Så vi krydser fingre for at det lykkes at afholde Red Bull Big Wave Africa

The local surfers consist of former event champ Sean Holmes from Wilderness, Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker who hails from Durban and who won the Mavericks Big Wave Event in 2006, and last year’s winner John Whittle, also from Durban. They will be joined by the likes of Durban’s Jason Ribbink, Andrew Marr who came second in last year’s event and Cape big wave stalwart Mickey Duffus. This year also sees Ian Armstrong back in the field after a few years absence and Simon Lowe debuting for the first time.

On the international side some new faces and some old friend are going to be in attendance, including evergreen Californian Grant Washburn and Jamie Sterling from Hawaii. Former event winner Greg Long from California and Brazilian die-hard Carlos Burle will be back, as will former Quiksilver Eddie Aikau Big Wave Event winner Ross Clarke-Jones from Australia and three time Mavericks event winner Darryl ‘Flea’ Virostko from California. Big wave Chilean surfer Ramon Navarro will be in attendance for the first time this year, as will be Peter Mel from California.

Sean Holmes (SA)
Greg Long (USA)
Grant Baker (SA)
Carlos Burle (BRA)
Jason Ribbink (SA)
Grant Washburn (USA)
Chris Bertish (SA)
Darryl Virostko (USA)
Mark Healey (HAW)
Andrew Marr (SA)
Paul Paterson (AUS)
John Whittle (SA)
Jamie Sterling (HAW)
David Smith (SA)
Ross Clarke-Jones (AUS)
Mickey Duffus (SA)
Evan Slater (USA)
Simon Lowe (SA)
Peter Mel (USA)
Anthony Tashnick (USA)
Ian Armstrong (SA)
Ian Walsh (HAW)
Ramon Navarro (CHILE)

Looking for waves… Or sharks!!!

In addition to the massive 100.000 Rand first prize for the winner of the 2007 Red Bull Big Wave Africa, fifty thousand for second and thirty thousand for third, Red Bull is proud to announce the various Special Awards which have been incorporated into the contest.

The Billabong Biggest Tube Award R10,000.
Dungeons has been known to throw a few mean barrels on the odd occasion, with previous surfers such as Sean Holmes, Chris Bertish and Grant ‘Twiggy’ Baker, to name a few, having had the fortune of experiencing some deep pits. The Billabong Biggest Tube award, valued at ten thousand Rand will be handed to the surfer who pulls in to the biggest barrel on the day, or during the contest activation period. Last year the prize went to Jason Ribbink for a barrel he scored in the semi-finals.

The Von Zipper Deep Throat Award.
The line up of big wave surfers invited to participate in this event are world renowned chargers who sieze every opportunity to catch the biggest and best waves whenever possible. Out of these surfers, there is always one individual who pushes the limits, charging anything and everything. This surfer will be awarded five thousand Rand from Von Zipper for his efforts. Last year the award went to Hawaiian Jamie Sterling.

The Ikaika Award by DaKine.
Ikaika means ‘Strong Warrior’ in Hawaiian, and this prize of five thousand Rand will be awarded to the surfer who is involved in an extraordinary event on the day. This is the first time DaKine have been involved with sponsoring an award, and any surfer who does that something extraordinary on the day will be eligible for this prize.

Sensi Threads Biggest Wave Award.
Along the course of the activation period, and during the event, some really big waves are going to be ridden. Some of them are going to be bigger than others, and there will be one wave, one singular, memorable wave, that will be deemed to be the biggest wave ridden.This year, as motivation to get surfers over the ledge on the freak sets, Sensi Threads have signed a cheque for twenty-five thousand Rand for the surfer catching the biggest wave! In 2006 the award went to second placed Andrew Marr.

Alle billeder Red Bull

Read more


Fiat Freestyle Kiteboard World cup

Super stjernerne Sebastien Garat, Sander Lenten, Paloma Guerrero er klar til at charge ved Fiat Freestyle Kiteboard World cup den 25.juni - 1. juli!

Læs mere

The Film IDEA

3 af verden bedste freeridere har teamet op til et fælles film projekt. IDEA bliver deres version af hvad skiløb handler om. Tjek teaseren ud!

Læs mere