Spring til indhold


Din indkøbskurv er tom

Artikel: Heading for bigger swells!


Heading for bigger swells!

Showing absolute dedication to finding only the best waves to run the event, organisers of the Rip Curl Pro presented by Snickers have packed up and headed away from the event’s traditional base of Bells Beach and have headed two and a half hour’s drive down the Great Ocean Road to the beach breaks of Johanna.

Johanna, a regular backup location on offer if the Bells Beach area is affected by a lack of swell, provides some fun shifting peaks which today will provide a fantastic canvas for those competing in round two.

Mark ‘Occy’ Occhilupo, who won the Rip Curl Pro at Bells Beach in 1998, was very happy with his scoreline and Round 2 victory over rookie Kai Otton (AUS) today. At 41 years of age, Occhilupo is the most seasoned surfer on tour. He put his experience and wave knowledge to good use today.

About Johanna

“Johanna is a right-hander and a bit fat but it’s got good shape – I wouldn’t say that it’s similar to Bells but it has similarities,” Occhilupo said. “I went out there trying to surf it like Bells and use my Bells knowledge in these waves and that worked well.”

With the waiting period extending to the April 13 and with three days needed to find a Rip Curl Pro winner, the event crew were always prepared to do whatever it took to ensure the world’s best surfers on the Foster’s ASP World Tour enjoyed only quality waves.

“This event is all about the surfers,” said Rip Curl spokesman Neil Ridgway. “And we’ll do whatever we can to make sure they get to surf this event in only the best waves on offer.”

Conditions pending, round two will wrap up today.

Rip Curl Pro presented by Snickers Round 2 Match-ups
HEAT 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Owen Wright (AUS)
HEAT 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
HEAT 3: Taylor Knox (USA) def. Nic Muscroft (AUS)
HEAT 4: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
HEAT 5: Cory Lopez (USA) vs. Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
HEAT 6: Phillip Macdonald (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
HEAT 7: CJ Hobgood (USA) vs. Bernardo Pigmeu (BRA)
HEAT 8: Michael Campbell (AUS) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
HEAT 9: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
HEAT 10: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)
HEAT 11: Ben Dunn (AUS) vs. Troy Brooks (AUS)
HEAT 12: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)
HEAT 13: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
HEAT 14: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Michael Lowe (AUS)
HEAT 15: Ricky Basnett (ZAF) vs. Trent Munro (AUS)
HEAT 16: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. Shaun Cansdell (AUS)

Read more


Interview med Jesper Vesterstrøm DEN-111

Racesejlerne har startet sæsonen. Riders.dk har interviewet en række af dem om vinterstræning, mål for sæsonen og hvad de laver lige nu!

Læs mere

The Flow Team vokser

Ny på pinden som Flow Pro Teamrider er den 23årig Mercedes Nicoll som også har Scotty Lago, Antti Autti, Risto Mattila, og Clair Bidez på listen!

Læs mere